Short Film : Cinematography Inspiration

Beautiful pictures and beautiful cinematography was the first thing about film that inspired me to want to make films. I’ve always wanted to capture visually beautiful sequences of images, before I gave any thought to what they meant or what story it was telling. I loved seeing beautiful combinations of color, or absence of color, with beautiful light and shadow cast across detailed textures. This must relate to my passion for photography, I knew that if I was to ever make a film, it must never look boring, even if the story had not much to say, it must at least be visually, cinematically, dazzling and inspiring. Many names come to mind when I think about beautiful cinematography, but the one name that always comes first to mind is Christopher Doyle, the man who has shot many of Wong Kar Wai’s best films. Christopher Doyle is the cinematographer who’s pictures made me begin to really pay attention to details in pictures.

“Film has an enormous power to glamorize, it can put in front of our eyes delightful images, many meters in size, shot in extraordinary colors, vivid and immediate.”

Here is a clip from In The Mood for Love (2000) of which Christopher Doyle was the cinematographer.

A clip from Fallen Angels (1995) of which Chris Doyle was also the cinematographer.

I found a short “Christopher Doyle Masterclass in Cinematography” on YouTube which describes his approach to capturing pictures, which has really inspired and motivated me to make pictures as well. Christopher Doyle paid a lot of attention to the locations in which he filmed. He

Leave a comment