Initial Photobook Idea

The first idea for my photobook came to me when I was out shooting one day in the city. I took a photo(IMG_2826) of two women glancing into an alley where I was standing. The contrast between the brightly lit streets and the shaded alley gave the picture an interesting framing, which I thought I could try recreate in different locations around the city. But this was not so successful.

For the next few photos I used public rubbish bins, restaurant windows, and a carpark fence to produce the same effect. I used a 50mm lens to flatten the images, bringing objects or people far away closer and into attention. Looking back at the pictures,
I realized that what mainly made the first picture stand out were the two woman synchronously looking right into the camera, both with the same candid and curious look across their faces, making me feel like I was being watched. This element was missing in all the other pictures, and on top of that I was running out of objects to shoot through.

Leave a comment