Bboy Santa?

B-boy Santa was introduced to me when a friend Michele showed me a video of him break dancing in the city in a Santa costume. Later I thought I could use B-boy Santa in my photobook, having him being main focal element of the collection. To test this idea, I took a few shots of different break dance freezes(or poses) with different lenses. Having already done similar pictures in the past, shooting it didn’t present many problems, but the problem was that it didn’t make much sense, I thought. Why would Santa be break dancing? And if Santa does break dance, what does it mean?

I soon realized that the idea was a blurry one, and for it to make sense, I had to introduce some restrictions.

The popular Santa that we all know rode a floating sleigh, which in other words meant he could fly. My Santa was not going to fly.
Santa is usually unseen and does his work at night. So my pictures had to be taken during the night time, in dark locations filled with shadows, but yet have some source of light to illuminate Santa…

Leave a comment